Planning Commission


Main office address

The Building & Zoning Department 

phone numbers

(815) 288-1403

The Dixon Plan Commission is appointed by the mayor and approved by the council. The Plan Commission has the following objectives:

To prepare and recommend to the Council a comprehensive plan of public improvements looking to the present and future development of the City, such plan after its adoption by the Council, to be known as the Official Plan of the City. The Commission may thereafter, from time to time, recommend any changes in the Official Plan.

To prepare and recommend to the Council and Board of Local Improvements, from time to time, plans for specific improvements in pursuance of the Official Plan.

To give aid to the officials of the City charged with the direction of projects for improvements embraced within the Official Plan, to further the making of such improvements and generally to promote the realization of the Official Plan.

Plan Commission Board Members:

Chairperson: Josie Whaley
Spencer Aurand
Greg Gates
Brian Seagren
Seth Wiggins
Tom Whitcombe
Stephanie Englund
Daniel Reglin
Kevin Marx
Mary Mahan-Deatherage


The Dixon Plan Commission meets on the fourth Thursday of the month at 6:00 PM. During the months of November and December the meetings will take place on the third Thursday of the month.